login / sign up about guide faq

I bought soy cheese the other day and after eating half of it, I saw that it had casein in it. Pissed me off to be honest. What cheeses are there that are actually vegan?


asked Nov 24 '10 at 15:27

MelissaV's gravatar image


4 Answers:
sort by:

Daiya cheese



Earth Island cheese (what's the brand name again?)

a few brands of Galaxy cheese - their "vegan" labelled cheese, and I also their rice parmesan and rice cheese processed slices

Tofutti cheese slices (and cream cheese)

Teeze (available in the U.S. but very rare to find in Canada)

Wayfare Foods cream cheese (made of oatmeal and delicious, but only available in U.S. AFAIK)

Parma! parmesan-type cheese

answered Nov 24 '10 at 22:50

AlisonC's gravatar image


edited Nov 24 '10 at 22:50

It's a simple matter of reading the ingredients. If you see "Contains: milk", "milk protein", or "casein" anywhere on the list, it's not vegan. Most vegan cheese will declare on it somewhere "Vegan!" ... as opposed of just "Veggie" or "No lactose".

answered Nov 24 '10 at 22:55

Annette%20Parkes's gravatar image

Annette Parkes

whole foods sells a great cheese made out of nuts.....cashew cheese and macadamian cheese...so good ..great on salad or pizza:)

answered Nov 25 '10 at 22:34

paigemarie's gravatar image


Here's a good article on the subject:

Vegan grilled cheese and other small miracles

It doesn't suggest any specific brands, but it might give you some useful things to think about.

answered Nov 25 '10 at 07:11

Mikl's gravatar image


Your answer

Login / Signup to answer this question.