login / sign up about guide faq

what are the do's and don'ts about being vegetarian, like are we aloud to eat fish or eggs etc. thank you

asked Oct 31 '10 at 00:44

George%20Lawson's gravatar image

George Lawson
71339

There are no rules!! Do whatever you want. If you want to call yourself a vegetarian but still eat beef, hey, go ahead, you're free to do and say whatever you like. I like to think of the words 'vegetarian' and 'vegan' as more of a 'suggestion' as nobody can really be 100% anything.

(Oct 31 '10 at 21:13) Scocasso

2 Answers:
sort by:

Vegetarians do not eat animals. This includes fish, but not eggs (although it's my understanding that in India, vegetarians do not eat eggs either).

Pescetarians eat fish, but no other animal.

Vegans do not eat any animal by-products (any product that comes from an animal). This includes eggs, milk (or any other milk product like ice cream or butter), or honey. Some people argue that vegans eat honey, but by definition, honey is an animal by-product.

answered Oct 31 '10 at 01:02

martin's gravatar image

martin ♦
651151939

1

Vegans usually eliminate animal products from what they wear aswell. Meaning, they usually don't wear leather, silk or wool.

(Oct 31 '10 at 01:38) CaringCook
-1

Vegans and vegetarians do not eat Genetically Modified foods/plants.

answered Oct 31 '10 at 16:12

April%20Reeves's gravatar image

April Reeves
01

A lot of vegetarians and vegans are health conscious and therefore choose not to eat GMO and non-organic foods, but many do.

(Oct 31 '10 at 16:42) martin ♦
Your answer

Login / Signup to answer this question.

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

By RSS:

Answers

Answers and Comments

Tags:

×6
×5
×1
×1

Asked: Oct 31 '10 at 00:44

Seen: 2,821 times

Last updated: Oct 31 '10 at 21:13