login / sign up about guide faq

I heard that margarine isn't vegan. Just wondering what is in it that isn't.

asked Nov 24 '10 at 15:21

MelissaV's gravatar image

MelissaV
121101017


One Answer:
sort by:

Most margarines aren't vegan - but not all. At least in Canada, the large majority of margarines contain whey (a dairy product), due to government regulations (as far as I know) of this dairy by-product needing to be used in our food system - so they put it in our margarine, among other things. In the United States, I think it's easier to find margarine without the whey, and therefore vegan, but I'm not certain of this.

In Canada, margarine brand names that ARE vegan are: Earth Balance, Soy Garden, and the new "vegan" Becel margarine (look for the "vegan" label on it). Fleischmann's also has no dairy products, although I've been told that the vitamin D they add to their margarine is animal-derived.

answered Nov 24 '10 at 22:34

AlisonC's gravatar image

AlisonC
1816

Your answer

Login / Signup to answer this question.